CSA Tuesday

Tuesdays are the day of week I look forward to the most this summer.  Why?  Because this year, Drew and I joined the Greenfield Berry Farm CSA. This means once a week for 18 weeks (every Tuesday!) we go to Greenfield Berry Farm located in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park and pick up delicious, fresh, naturally grown produce.  Our first pick up was last Tuesday.  Check out the goodies from last week – baby bok choy, mustard greens, chard, beet greens, two beautiful heads of lettuce, a zucchini, garlic scapes, and green onions. IMG_20140610_191552386_HDR My favorite items were the garlic scapes and beet greens.  I had never had either one before.  I ended up stir-frying the scapes, stems of the beet greens, onions, and bok choy in toasted sesame oil this weekend.  Cooked scapes have a texture similar to a green bean.  Unexpected, but delicious. One of the farmers suggested using the scapes in pesto.  We didn’t try it, but I’m sure it would be good.

The Friday night before the first pick-up, we went to an “open barn” and went on a tour of the farm.  We were also able to pick strawberries.  The strawberry patch was a little overgrown and had prickly weeds, but Drew and I still collected six pints full.

IMG_20140606_203418774_HDRMost went into this strawberry pie.

IMG_20140608_194349580_HDR

I think the cutouts on top were easier than a traditional pie crust and stirring in fresh strawberries to the cooked filling made it taste extra fresh and delicious.

And the goodies from tonight’s pick-up – zucchini, summer squash, lots of scapes, lettuce, beet greens, turnips, and pea pods.  We ended up trading our green onions for additional garlic scapes to make pesto this weekend.

IMG_20140617_184811714_HDROh and another reason I love Tuesdays is that I usually don’t have to go to work, so I get spend oodles of time with my doodle 🙂

IMG_20140617_103601453

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

